My Next Chapter: JPMorgan Chase

Art Chang
2 min readDec 3, 2018

--

I am excited to announce that the next chapter of my career starts at JPMorgan Chase on December 3, 2018, when I join the Office of the General Counsel to lead a technology initiative in knowledge management. Success will mean connecting people to the knowledge needed to do their work with greater efficiency, efficacy and satisfaction.

Three elements make for a great career opportunity: a vitally interesting problem, an inspiring team, and sufficient resources, especially executive sponsorship. I am going into the JPMC role with great confidence in all three. I couldn’t be more excited.

This opportunity allows me to build on important themes in my career.

  • Over 15 years incubating technology solutions as a partner to enterprises looking for innovation in diverse industries at Greenberg Traurig and Tipping Point Partners. My most successful work involved mission-critical programs and projects in regulated industries burdened with legacy technology and organizational complexity.
  • Nearly 30 years at the interface of technology and the law, beginning with the New York City Corporation Counsel’s Office and more recently at the New York City Campaign Finance Board. I am especially proud of the public-private partnership that created NYC Votes and Voting.nyc.
  • A decade-long relationship with Pivotal Software that proved that agile software development leads to successful enterprise software projects. Together, we built open-source and cloud-based startups — Cookstr, Casebook and NYC Votes — that successfully integrated with legacy/waterfall systems and transformed the how editors, caseworkers and candidates experienced their work.

The timing couldn’t be better. Leaving Pivotal in 2017 allowed me to give my time to the mission of making New York a kinder, more responsive and equitable state. I had the privilege of working with so many inspirational people, from grassroots activists to candidates who flipped the New York State Senate from GOP control to a few votes shy of a Democratic supermajority.

--

--

Art Chang

Fighting for Equity. Columbia Professor. Board Chair of CACF.org. Former 2021 Candidate for NYC Mayor. NYC Votes, Casebook, Queens West